This is an old revision of the document!


Users

When you login to the site, the Users page opens. Here you can manage all users of the system.

The first two users are created automatically. One is admin with password reset to you by e-mail. The other one is wialon with password wialon needed to enter the monitoring site. It is recommended to change this password later on.

The table displays a list of users and their main properties such as name, creator, activity, last login, date created, id (assigned automatically by the system), etc. To quickly find a needed user, apply a filter. Use the asterisk sign (*) which replaces any number of unknown characters and can be placed at the beginning, at the end, at the middle of your inquiry or in several places simultaneously. You can filter users not only by name, but also by creator, creation date, last login, account, and billing plan.

Users created on this page can enter monitoring and management sites (if you not deny the access). To be able to create monitoring objects like geofences, notification, etc., a user must have an account. To attach an account to a user, go to the Resources page and create a resource as this user or give this user access to some other resource.

User Properties Dialog

To create a new user, press the Create User button.

Name
Enter login name for a new user. This is the only obligatory field, the rest is optional.

Create as
Indicate the creator for the user. The creator will have full access rights to this user. The user inherits creator's account and billing plan.

Password
Enter password for the user and confirm it.

E-mail
Enter user's e-mail.

Host mask
Host mask can be applied to user to restrict IP addresses from which to enter service sites. For example, to allow user to login to sites from office only. To set a mask, use the wildcard symbol *, for example, host mask can be set like this: '212.0.13.*'.

Can create objects
Mark this check box to allow the user to create objects on the monitoring site like units, geofences, reports templates, etc.

Enabled
Mark this check box to activate the user right after creation. If a user is enabled, it means, it can login to the system. Otherwise, you can you can do it later.

Can change password
If activated, the user will have possibility to change the password to enter the system.

Skip ACL propagation
If this option is not activated, superior system users will automatically receive access to the objects created by this user. To avoid this situation, mark this check box.

Can change settings
Allow/disallow user to change their user settings like time zone, phone number, e-mail, etc.

Can send SMS
Allow/disallow user to send SMS messages from Wialon interface.

SMS Replies
In the SMS Replies tab enter user's phone number which will be authorized by the system.

At the end press OK. In the popup window read the result of your action. Press Close to cancel.

Click on a user name in the table to view and edit properties described above. While editing a user, you can also indicate the basic account for the user.

Actions

The following actions can be performed over a user as system object:

  • delete – delete user. User cannot be deleted until any objects created as this user exist in the system.
  • delete_all – delete user and all objects created by this user.
  • accessors – manage access to the user (described below).
  • reset_password – reset password. New password will be displayed in a modal window. After this action, it is impossible restore the old password.
  • show_msgs – show messages of this user (logins to the system & logouts). Choose time interval and press Show.

Access Management

When press accessors button, you can control access to a user from other users. Four access levels are available:

  • View: selected users can see the objects created by this user;
  • Execute commands: the same as view level (this access level is applied mainly to units);
  • Edit: selected users can change the user's properties;
  • Manage: selected users will have all above-mentioned rights and even can delete the user from the system.

At the left there is a list of all users available. To assign rights to a user, select it from the list and press the Allow button against the needed access level. To deny the access, select the needed user (in one of lists on the right) and press Disallow.

In square brackets there are user groups. If a right is assigned to user group, it is applied to all users in this group.

Was this helpful?
Thank you!