Users

A user is a system object that has a unique name (login) and password. Users can login to Wialon where they can control their units with the help of different tools and features. Different users can have different access rights and, accordingly, see a different set of monitoring units and other system objects, create their own geofences, report templates, and so on.

Working with Users

To work with users, open the Users panel by choosing a corresponding name in the top panel or clicking on the Users item in the main menu customizer.

The panel contains the list of users available to the current user. For the convenience of search, use the dynamic filter.

Below is the list of actions you can perform right from the panel.

: log in as this user. The icon is disabled if you do not have enough access rights. More information about logging in as a different user can be found here.
or : edit or view user properties (the type of displayed icon depends on your access rights). User properties dialog box can contain up to six tabs which were described previously:

: create a new user based on the selected user.
: delete the selected user from the system. The button is disabled if there are not enough access rights.

Application of Users

If you have access rights to several users, you can create objects under a selected user or within their account. As a rule, the information that a certain object (driver, geofence, unit, and so on) belongs to a certain resource or account is displayed in the object's tooltip or properties dialog box. Besides, in all panels that contain filters, there is an additional filter by user or account in the form of a drop-down list.

User actions in the system are logged. For instance, you can view user's (operator's) chat with the driver, learn which commands were sent to units by this user, what alterations this user made to some object properties, what objects they created, and so on. This functionality is available mainly through reports.

In the advanced reports on users, you can see more detailed data on users' logins and logouts, as well as build activity charts by the hour and day.

User access to monitoring units can be controlled automatically:

  • with the help of the job (for instance, you can allow access only during a working shift);
  • with the help of the notification (for instance, deny access upon route completion).

Individual settings can be imported to other users. More information about the transfer of user settings can be found here.

Was this helpful?
Thank you!